Satya Yoga


Satya (truthfulness), the second of the five yamas (restraints) described in the Yoga Sutra, guides us to think, speak, and act with integrity. The word sat means “that which exists, that which is.” Satya, therefore, is seeing and communicating things as they actually are, not as we wish them to be. This can be quite challenging since we all perceive life through a conditioned mind-set: our thoughts, beliefs, and past experiences shape and color whatever we see, and, as such, none of us experience an event in the same way. Also, what we experience as truth one day may not be the same truth we live the next. Practicing satya requires staying open to truth in the present moment, as it reveals itself. wp-1484063517515.jpg

 I practice and give Hatha, Yin, Vinyasa Krama, Ashtanga vinyasa (i practice all 6 series),and teachings of Ashtanga Yoga (8 limb path of Yoga). I have trained and studied through special people in the world like David Swenson, Amber Espelage, Indu Bhardwaj, Mike Burgasser,  Sean Corn, Gurmukha Kaur Khalsa, Satchidananda Ashram,  Larry Schultz and meditated with Paramahansa Pranjananda Guru of Kriya yoga. I love going to the Won buddhist temple in Hillsborough NC to meditate and be thankful for life. I am sincerely devoted to tailoring yoga. The essence of Yoga needs to be done on the Mat and off the Mat for better living and a better world.wp-1484011348091.jpg

Tailored Private Yoga is available to all levels. I love tailoring to folks pathologies to bring You back to a state of balance and happiness as well as take you to next stage of your practice and introduce postures and breath work that I can see you are ready for. We are all different with our constitutions and our body ailments so Our Yoga practice will always be different. As our body/ vehicle changes out Yoga Sadhana should reflect that and come to it’s aide. Let us work on prevention with Ayurvedic  (ie. Breath Science and postures for pathology) driven traditional Yoga in: Hatha, Yin, and Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.

Private Yoga Workshops: These workshops are exclusive for freinds, family, comrads to book 5-10 people at a time. These are tailored to a ‘group focus’ on growing the Yoga Practice with Prevention strategies from Ayurveda (ie. Kriyas and Breath Science support). Let me take you to the next level.

*schedule  on book / pay tab 




The Practice

Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a sequence of postures linked by movement and breath. This system comprises three series of Asana called Primary, Intermediate and Advanced A, B, C & D. The Primary Series is called Yoga Chikitsa, meaning body therapy. The Intermediate Series is called Nadi Shodhana, meaning nervous system purification. The Advanced Series (A, B, C & D) are collectively known as Sthira Bhaga or steady strength.Although it is important to learn the postures in the correct order with the Ashtanga Yoga method, it is the cultivation of the breath that is paramount. By focusing on the breath rather than just the achievement of the postures, the practice brings you into deeper contact with your Self.

Hatha Yoga: Most forms of yoga in the West can be classified as Hatha Yoga. Hatha simply refers to the practice of physical yoga postures, meaning your Ashtanga, vinyasa, Iyengar and Power Yoga classes are all Hatha Yoga. The word “hatha” can be translated two ways: as “willful” or “forceful,” or the yoga of activity, and as “sun” (ha) and “moon” (tha), the yoga of balance. Hatha practices are designed to align and calm your body, mind, and spirit in preparation for meditation.

Vinyasa krama is the synchronized movement of yoga asanas through various stages in order to achieve a specific goal. Most commonly, this goal is to progress from simple asana to more advanced asana. The term comes from the Sanskrit, vi, meaning “order,” nyasa, meaning “placement,” and karma, meaning “succession.” Vinyasa krama helps the yogi prepare his/her body for the more advanced asana by starting with basic poses then building on those with progressively more challenging asanas. By the time the yogi reaches his/her goal – typically an advanced asana – he/she is physically and mentally prepared to successfully practice it.

Yin Yoga is a slow-paced style of modern yoga with postures and breath, that are held for longer periods of time—for beginners, it may range from 45 seconds to two minutes; more advanced practitioners may stay in one asana for five minutes or more. One is to slowly stretch to unwind fascial connections. Surrendering and letting go is not easy, but has beautiful rewards with holding patterns releasing and opening range of motion/ posture. 

There is a basic human wisdom that can help solve The World’s problems. This wisdom does not belong to any one culture or religion, it is a tradition of human warriorship that has existed in many cultures at many times throughout history.  How we dedicate time on this planet (seva) and leave positive footprints in the sands of time.wp-1499713004211.jpg

Knowing others is intelligence;
knowing yourself is true wisdom.
Mastering others is strength;
mastering yourself is true power.”
Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching

Yoga Can Be Your Best Friend For Every Stage of Your Life….


“A person is able to attain equilibrium between the physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual aspects of one’s own nature. One’s closeness to Nature, enables one to be in continual contact with the inner world of the spirit that impregnates all things”


-lotus anwen wachiwi sagebrush