What is Vayu? How does Vayu relate to Vedic Thai and Yoga?

Definition – What does Vayu mean?

According to ancient yogis, prana is subdivided into five vayus. Being aware of the vayu can help an individual obtain optimum benefits from yogic practices as the movement of prana is the essence of yogic practice.https://www.yogapedia.com/definition/6373/vayu

The five subdivisions of vayu are as follows:

  1. Prana vayu – Prana Vayu is seated in the heart and chest; anahata chakra and is governed by the element air. Prana moves down and up from the throat centre to the navel centre and energizes and all the other vayus and harmonizes the surrounds.Prana Vayu is the energy that maintains Heart, Lungs, Breathing, swallowing and Blood circulation.
  2. Apana vayu – Active in the pelvic and lower abdominal areas. Improves digestion, elimination and reproduction.  Governing kidneys, bladder, colon, rectum, bladder and genitals.A Balanced Apana Vayu speeds up the process of pranotthana; a perquisite for Kundalini awakening. muladhara chakra and is governed by the element earth.
  3. Vyana vayu – Governs the heart and lungs, and supports the function of other vayus.Vyana Vayu pervades the whole body and is the coordinating, balancing and the integrating force that binds everything together.Vyana vayu corresponds to the Navel and Sacral (Swadisthana) Chakra and balances Water element. Emanating from the navel (kanda), Vyana vayu pervades the entire body connecting through Svadisthana Chakra and is governed by its element; water.
  4. Udana vayu – Udana Vayu is seated in the throat and the head area; vishuddha chakra and is Visualization | Healing Through Balancegoverned by the element ether. Udana Vayu is the wind that which carries upwards from the throat to the head and controls the extremities as well as all the sensory functions.Jalandhara Bandha (The Chin lock) stimulates the energy and movement of Udana.
  5. Samana vayu – Samana Vayu is seated in the abdominal area; manipura chakra and is governed by the element fire. Samana Vayu moves from the periphery of the body into the core and governs the assimilation of oxygen from the air we breathe.Samana Vayu is the energy that fuels the digestive fire, liver, stomach, deudenum, spleen, small and large intestines.

Balancing the vayus while practicing yoga poses not only promotes physical strength, but also helps the practitioner move closer to their spiritual aspirations.


he base Pranayama and Asana for Apana Vayu:

Kapal Bhatti or the Skull shining/Brain purifying Forceful exhalation.

  • Prasarita Padottana asana. Spread legged standing forward bend.
  • Vriksha asana. The tree pose.
  • Ardha Padma Janu Shirsh asana. Bound half lotus head-to-knee pose. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Baddha Kona asana. Bound angle pose *used in Vedic Thai
  • Shalabh asana. The locust pose  *used in Vedic Thai


The base Pranayama and Asana for Samana Vayu:

Surya Bheda or the Sun Breath and it corresponds to the Uddiyana bandha (the upward flying abdominal lock).

  • Parivritta Parshvakona asana. Revolved side angle pose.
  • Utkata asana. Chair pose.
  • Jathara Parivartana asana. Reclining abdominal twist. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Nava asana. Boat pose.*used in Vedic Thai
  • Marichy asana. Marichi pose, twist variation. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Matsyendra asana. The Spinal twist. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Paschimottana asana. posterior stretch (sitting forward bend). *used in Vedic Thai


Bhastrika or Bellows Breath and it correspond to the Jalandhara Bandha (The Throat Lock).

  • Parivritta Janu Shirsha asana. Revolved head-to-knee pose. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Adho Mukha Shvanasana. Downward facing dog pose. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Downward-Facing Plank Pose.
  • Urdhva Mukha Shvanasana. Upward-facing dog pose. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Gomukh asana. Cow’s face pose *used in Vedic Thai


The base Pranayama and Asana for Udana Vayu:

Pranayama for Udana Vayu: Ujjayi (The Victory breath).

  • Setu Bandha Sarvanga asana. The Bridge pose. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Viparita Karani. Inverted action pose.
  • Sarvang asana. Shoulder stand. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Hal Asana. The Plough. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Matsya asana. Fish pose. *used in Vedic Thai
  • Shirsha asana. The Head stand.
  • Simh asana. Lion pose.


The base Pranayama and Asana for Vyana vayu…

Pranayama For Vyana: Anuloma Viloma. Alternate nostril breathing.

  • Virabhadrasana I, 11, 111 | Warrior I, 2, 3.
  • Chandrasana | Half moon pose.
  • Garudasana | Eagle pose.
  • The Balancing Poses.
  • I use pranayama in Vedic Thai Depending on symptoms


The Pranic Energy: 5 Prana Vayus in Yoga


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s